Jean-Louis ARCAND

 Jean Louis Arcand

Professor, the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva
Senior Fellow Ferdi

Biographie

Jean-Louis Arcand is Professor and Chair of the Department of International Economics at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Geneva, which he joined in 2008.

From 2012 to 2016, he was the founding Director of the Center for Finance and Development and from 2009 to 2012, he was chair of Development Studies.

He is a Founding Fellow of the European Union Development Network (EUDN), a Senior Fellow at FERDI, and Visiting Professor at the Hanqing Advanced Institute of Economics and Finance at Renmin University of China in Beijing.

He was assistant and then Associate Professor at the University of Montréal, and Professor at the Centre d'Etudes et de Recherches en Développement International (CERDI). He holds a PhD in Economics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

His research deals with the microeconomics of development, with a current focus on impact evaluations in Africa and the political economy of China. He consults for the World Bank, the FAO, the UNDP, the WHO, the Gates Foundation and several national governments.

Publications
All publications

Events
All events

Jean-Louis ARCAND

 Jean Louis Arcand

Professeur, Institut de hautes études internationales et du développement de Genève

Senior Fellow, Ferdi

Biographie

Jean-Louis Arcand est le directeur du département d’économie internationale de l’Institut de hautes études internationales et du développement à Genève, qu’il a rejoint en 2008.

Il fut le directeur fondateur du centre finance et développement (2012-2016), ainsi que le directeur du département d’études du développement (2009-12). 

Il est l’un des fondateurs du European Union Development Network (EUDN), Senior Fellow à la FERDI, et professeur invité au Hanqing Advanced Institute of Economics and Finance à l’Université Renmin à Beijing. 

Il a été professeur à l’Université de Montréal et au Centre d'études et de recherches en développement international (CERDI). Il détient un PhD en économie du Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). 

Ses recherches portent sur la microéconomie du développement, avec une attention particulière pour les évaluations d’impact en Afrique et l’économie politique de la Chine. Il est consultant pour la Banque mondiale, la FAO, le PNUD, l’OMS, la Fondation Gates et plusieurs gouvernements.

Publications
Toutes les publications

Événements
Tous les événements