Feasibility study for the creation of a university of excellence in the CEMAC zone

The CEMAC Commission sought the assistance of FERDI to carry out an inventory of existing higher education programmes of excellence in the six countries of the zone, and a feasibility study for a regional university of excellence.

Complete • April 30, 2022

CEMAC has the ambition of creating a regional university of excellence by 2022-2023. This project, driven by the President of the CEMAC Commission, Professor Daniel ONA ONDO, has received the support of the 6 member countries.

It was decided that this regional university of excellence would     be based in Equatorial Guinea, on the Djibloho campus, and that it would be supported by a network of satellite institutes/training centres of excellence which are present in various CEMAC member countries. One of the main objectives of this university of excellence and the satellite institutes is to meet the training and subsequent employment needs of Central African youth. If the CEMAC countries were to look ahead for the next 20 years, what skills would they need to sustain their growth and be competitive?

FERDI's work resulted in the mapping of higher education and research training programmes across the six CEMAC countries. Subsequently, a critical analysis of the university of excellence and its satellite institutes project was conducted. The study initially presented aspects concerning the overall organisation of the university and the governance of the project. It then provided a reference framework to guide the Commission's actions in ensuring excellence in areas such as training, research, and international engagement. The findings of this study were presented to the Commission during a workshop held in Douala on April 7 and 8, 2022.

Ferdi (2022) Étude de faisabilité pour la création d’une université d’excellence en zone CEMAC. Rapport Ferdi pour la CEMAC, mars 2022.

Étude réalisée par la Ferdi, sous la responsabilité de Vianney Dequiedt et Philippe Messéant, avec la participation de Pengd-Wendé Richard Nikiema et Pierre Ouedraogo. Cette étude a été réalisée en collaboration avec Bertrand Doukpolo, Directeur de l’Enseignement Supérieur, de la Recherche et de la Formation Professionnelle de la Commission de la CEMAC, et les six points focaux : Patrick Abane Engolo, Pergentino Esangui Ondo, Yambaïdjé Madjindaye, Jean M’Boliguipa, Yvon-Pierre Ndongo-Ibara et Jean-François Owaye. 


  • Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa - CEMAC